Carmelo Anthony is Officially a New York Knick and I am Officially a New York Knicks Fan


I’m saying this here and now before I get called out on it. Make room on the Knicks bandwagon because I am jumping on it. When I was younger I was a huge basketball fan and watched it constantly (after football season was over of course). But having been born in Indiana then growing up in South Florida I never really had a team to call my own.

The Miami Heat came along when I was a teenager but that was when Reggie Miller was still playing for the Pacers and I still felt some sort of allegiance to my home state team. I’ve lived in New York for almost twelve years now and it took at least seven of those years to wash off the hate I had for the Knicks from back when I was a Pacer’s fan.

For the past few years I’ve been wanting desperately to root for a team in my newly adopted hometown but the whole Isaiah debacle made that nearly impossible. Then came the hiring of Coach D’Antoni and the acquisition of Amare Stoudemire, both of whom I enjoyed watching while they were with the Suns and inched me ever closer to becoming a full-fledged fan.

Now they’ve gone and done it. They’ve gone and gotten Carmelo Anthony, one of my favorite all-time college players, who I saw play many times at the Garden when he was at Syracuse. That sealed the deal.

So yes, I’m jumping on the bandwagon and I’m not ashamed to admit it. My name is James P. and I’m a fan of the Knicks.

Leave a Reply

