Cr-48 Chrome Notebook is Indeed Shipping Again and Now With Sweet Decals


Normally when my dog comes to me for a random late night walk I curse him under my breath and curse myself for being such a sucker. Tonight, not only did my dog get to take a late night walk, as I walked out onto my porch I saw a package from UPS waiting for me.

I tried to harness my expectations but the box looked a lot like the kind of box a notebook would be shipped in. As I glared angrily at my dog, silently bidding him to finish with his business, it took everything I had not to just leave him out there and run back in with my package.

I cracked open the shipping package and sure enough, inside was a free Cr-48 from Google’s Pilot Program just waiting for me to get my paws on (that pun was for my dog).

Cr-48 Box


I went ahead and put the decals on but now I can't decide whether it looks cool or if it looks like I stole it from a 16-year-old girl.



I haven’t had a lot of time to get my hands dirty with it yet, but there are a few cool features that jump out at you. The machine itself is lightweight, with an awesome keyboard which adds a few new button features to help with browsing with Chrome.

It also goes to sleep, wakes up and powers on in literally less than two seconds. On my Windows laptop when I shut the lid and open it again the screen doesn’t even turn back on from sleep mode. I have to forcibly function it back into sleep mode and back on again to get the monitor to work. This is definitely not an issue with the Cr-48.

The touchpad does take some getting used to but I’m sure that will come in time. I have already found a sweet Chrome extension written by Luigi Montanez called Vimium. If you’re a Chrome user, even if it’s not on a ChromeOS you should definitely check out this extension.

The key concept behind Vimium is that it adds a keyboard navigation mode to Chrome. So when you’re using Chrome, and you’re not currently focused on a form field, you’re in navigation mode (also called normal mode in Vim-speak). Click here for a screencap of Vimium’s keyboard shortcuts.

The other thing I really like about it is how clean the design is. It’s not cluttered up with any processor or Windows (or Google as it were) or brand stickers. Instead of any of that you get this business card stuck inside the box.

Quite a contrast from just one side (yes there are stickers on the other side too) of my Lenovo laptop.

Google also throws in 100MB/mo for two years of free 3G access on Verizon WiFi, they also offer an unlimited $9.99 all-day unlimited pass and a pay-as-you go rates as well.

So, does anyone want to buy a tricked out, four month old Lenovo IdeaPad?

4 thoughts on “Cr-48 Chrome Notebook is Indeed Shipping Again and Now With Sweet Decals

  1. So after numerous spontaneous focus groups everyone I asked agreed that the decals did in fact make it look as if I’d stolen it from a 16-year-old girl. Fortunately, the decals are made in such a way they easily peel off and leave no residue or marks that they were even there.

    Reply
    • That’s a good idea. I’d probably just add it as a category/sub-section here though. Too often I’ve tried to start a new page and it usually fizzles out. At least here I know it’ll always be up. But I definitely will start a Chrome OS Tips category to make it easy for people to find it and hopefully use it.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Google Adds Thousands of Cr-48 Pilot Users to a Google Group Without Warning or Moderation — James Poling

Leave a Reply

