CamScanner Pro vs. JotNot Scanner Pro


I’ve been wanting/needing a scanner app on my iPhone but wasn’t sure which one I should go with. I downloaded what seem to be the two most popular apps right now JotNot Scanner and CamScanner. The first and third images in the gallery above were taken by CamScanner, while the second and fourth were taken by JotNot.

[nggallery id=12]

CamScanner clearly has the upper hand on quality of the image it spits out and shares. Both apps offer pretty robust sharing options with the ability to upload your scanned documents to Google Docs, Evernote, Dropbox and a few more.

The one issue I did run into was that with CamScanner, once I set up my accounts to have them shared they kept turning themselves off and if there was another way to share them it wasn’t very intuitive. The good thing is that if that issue gets resolved it should allow your documents to be automatically uploaded to your sharing place of choice. JotNot makes you go through a couple of extra steps to share with each cloud app but at least it works at this point.

At this point, for me, CamScanner is clearly the winner simply because of how well they are able to modify the image and make it extremely readable. I currently have an email into their support dept. so I’ll update this if I hear back with what’s going on with the autosave sharing options.

Let me know if you use either of these apps or have another one you’d like to share.

Leave a Reply

