REVIEW: Klean Kanteen – Putting My Money Where My Mouth Is


I do a lot of talking about the environment and how completely effed things seem to be and how little seems to be being done about it.

Still, global warming and what you can personally do about it can seem overwhelming and frustrating.

The really cool and wonderful truth of it is that by simply making a few, small decisions and actually sticking to them, over time, you can look back and realize that you actually have managed to reduce your carbon footprint significantly.

One thing I did a year or so ago was invest in a Klean Kanteen water bottle. I bought the 27oz Klean Kanteen® Classic along with the Stainless Loop Cap.

The bottle is made from high quality, 18/8, food-grade stainless steel that’s totally free of BPA and other toxins. Because stainless steel itself is safe, we don’t need to coat the inside of the bottle with a plastic or epoxy lining, which is one of the main differences between a stainless steel Klean Kanteen® and aluminum bottles.

When my wife saw mine she loved it and wanted one of her own. I ordered her the same one I have and I also bought my 2-year-old daughter the kid kanteen klassic sippy which she absolutely adores. To be honest, it’s actually one of the only ways we can get her to drink water is by putting it in her Klean Kanteen.

One the best things about the stainless steel Klean Kanteens is that drinking water out of them tastes great. I can’t explain it but whether or not it’s just straight out of the tap water or refrigerated water from the Brita, the water always tastes great.

This is a great example of the point I was making. With a small amount of research I was able to find something that I could use on a daily basis, something that was healthier for me (free of BPA and other toxins) than what I was currently using and at the same time was reducing my carbon footprint. 

Will my Klean Kanteen save the environment? Of course not. But mine and yours and the thousands of other people making active choices to lead environmentally responsible lives continue to add up and eventually the sum total of our actions will begin to negate the actions of those who continue to put profit above all else, even something as fragile as the environment.

Leave a Reply

