Why Tiger Woods was Wrong in His Apology


Tiger-Woods-and-Elin-NordUnless you’ve been literally living under a rock since last Friday you know all about Tiger and his “sins” and “transgressions”.

Today Tiger posted an apology on his website. While the apology to his family seemed sincere, there was definitely a tone that I found to be a bit spiteful.

Obviously these are extremely trying times for Tiger and his family, but his anger seems to be misplaced. While he seems to genuinely feel regret for the obvious pain he’s caused his family, his anger seems misplaced.

Some people are of the opinion that since this has nothing to do with golf that Tiger owes neither his fans nor the media any explanation. I’m sorry but it doesn’t work like that. Tiger’s a big boy, he needs to learn that his actions have consequences. Not only with his family but, when you are a public figure, with the public as well.

We all cooed as we watched Tiger’s appearance on the Tonight Show when he was only two years old. We all marveled with Tiger as we watched him, exactly 20 years later, become the youngest player and the first minority player to win The Masters. We mourned with Tiger at the passing of his Father. The man who had dedicated his life into making Tiger who Tiger is. The man we saw Tiger hug after nearly every victory. Now, 12 years after his first Masters win and 14 majors later, we marvel with Tiger as he became the first athlete in history to earn more than $1 billion. Where does he think that money came from?

Sure much of it has to do with the fact that he may well turn out to be the greatest golfer that ever lived. And if Tiger only played golf and never accepted all of those tens of millions in dollars in endorsements I may very well be agreeing with the people who are saying we should keep our noses out of it. But that’s not what happened. Golf isn’t what pays the bills in the Woods’ household. Tiger makes way more money in endorsements than he does playing golf. Those endorsements are paid for by people’s hopes and dreams. Millions of people are vested in Tiger’s success, if not monetarily by buying the products he endorsed, then emotionally buy buying into the image he was selling.

When you are a public figure and you so publicly implode (like on your neighbor’s lawn at 2:30 in the morning), then yes Tiger, you do owe us an explanation.

Click after the jump to take a closer look at Tiger’s apology.

I have let my family down and I regret those transgressions with all of my heart. I have not been true to my values and the behavior my family deserves. I am not without faults and I am far short of perfect. I am dealing with my behavior and personal failings behind closed doors with my family. Those feelings should be shared by us alone.

Well written, heartfelt and you had me until the very last sentence. You can’t ask us to share only the good parts of your life and tell us to go fly a kite when bad things happen.

Although I am a well-known person and have made my career as a professional athlete, I have been dismayed to realize the full extent of what tabloid scrutiny really means. For the last week, my family and I have been hounded to expose intimate details of our personal lives. The stories in particular that physical violence played any role in the car accident were utterly false and malicious. Elin has always done more to support our family and shown more grace than anyone could possibly expect.

You could have easily squashed all of these stories by simply having the courage to show your face. All you had to do was step out your front door and address the media, your fans, face to face. You refused to even see the Florida State Troopers that showed up at your house three days in a row to interview you. What’s the old saying? Innocent people have nothing to hide?

But no matter how intense curiosity about public figures can be, there is an important and deep principle at stake which is the right to some simple, human measure of privacy. I realize there are some who don’t share my view on that. But for me, the virtue of privacy is one that must be protected in matters that are intimate and within one’s own family. Personal sins should not require press releases and problems within a family shouldn’t have to mean public confessions.

This matter just didn’t show up on your doorstep out of nowhere. It’s not just the fact that you’ve apparently cheated on your wife and tried to cover it up at least once. It become intimate when you yourself drug it kicking and screaming out of the privacy of your own home in a crashed Escalade.

Whatever regrets I have about letting my family down have been shared with and felt by us alone. I have given this a lot of reflection and thought and I believe that there is a point at which I must stick to that principle even though it’s difficult.

For all the reasons I have stated above, until you face your “sins” and “transgressions” with your fans, with the public, this well never truly go away. Ask Kobe or A-Rod.

I will strive to be a better person and the husband and father that my family deserves. For all of those who have supported me over the years, I offer my profound apology.

That’s good to hear. As a husband and a father myself I wish you nothing but the best and I hope that no matter what happens you and your wife can find a way to keep your children in a cocoon of innocence about all of this.

5 thoughts on “Why Tiger Woods was Wrong in His Apology

  1. I've been traveling and I'm catching up on my blogs! I agree that Tiger does owe us an explanation. Even if it's just “I am a huge jerkface and my only explanation is that I am a horny bastard.”

    Reply
    • It's amazing that he's managed to completely avoid any public statements for this long. I think the longer he goes, the more people are going to turn on him. I think people would have been more likely to give him a break if he just came out and explained himself.

      Reply
  2. It's amazing that he's managed to completely avoid any public statements for this long. I think the longer he goes, the more people are going to turn on him. I think people would have been more likely to give him a break if he just came out and explained himself.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

