Brizzly: What Twitter would be with a Facelift and on some Steroids


brizzlyFor the past year or so I’ve been making a concerted effort to move everything I do into the cloud. I love knowing that I’m not tied down to one machine. It’s very freeing to know that I can log on from any computer in the world and have access to virtually everything I need.

The more I use Twitter, the more I’ve been searching for the perfect web app to handle my Twitter needs. A few days ago I wrote about Seesmic’s Twitter Web App, which has pretty much become my default app of choice. But as I mentioned, Seesmic is still missing some basic functionality that I’d like to see added and until I find an app that can handle everything I need I’m always going to be on the lookout for new innovations.

The other day I got an invite to another Twitter web app called brizzly and I have to say, wow. Not only is the design drop-dead gorgeous, it’s loaded with features. It’s by far the most powerful Twitter web app I’ve seen. Not only does it have many of the features some of the more robust desktop clients have, it even has some unique features that are pretty cool too.

Brizzly not only supports multiple accounts it has facebook integration as well, both of which are big pluses in my book.

Screencaps and more details after the jump.

The first thing you’ll notice about brizzly is it’s unique three-column layout. The middle column is your main timeline and in some respects looks a lot like the Twitter.com timeline with a few key enhancements.

1) Expanded URLs: brizzly expands and shows all original urls. This feature is great for anyone hesitant to click on the random bit.ly urls for fear of not knowing where they actually lead to. With brizzly you can see exactly what you’re clicking on and that feels good.
Brizzly - url_expander

2) Image previews: brizzly brings twitpic, yfrog, flickr, you name right into your stream. Whenever someone posts an image you see a live preview of it in your timeline and decide whether or not you want/need to see more.
Brizzly -image_previews

3) Inline replies: Want to reply to a tweet? No need to lose your place, brizzly pops open a reply window right below the tweet your responding to. Very convenient.
Brizzly - inline_reply

4) Explain your own trending topics: Ever see a trending topic and wonder just what in the hell it was about? brizzly allows its community to explain trends, which often times are accurate and other times lead to intentionally hilarious explanations. Either way it helps to keep the trending topics interesting.
Brizzly - trends

5) Picture page: brizzly has a tab your homepage that lets you easily click on your “pictures” tab and see all of the photos you’ve uploaded. You can either tweet them again or delete them, or just leave them where they’re at.
Brizzly -pictures_page

6) Powerful, clean left nav: brizzly’s left nav lets you quickly and easily navigate anywhere you want to go within your account. You get a little dot notification if you have any mentions or DMs. You can also check out your lists and your searches as well.
Brizzly - left_nav

It doesn’t take much to see that a lot of thought and care has gone into both the functionality and the GUI of brizzly and it shows. There are so many cool features that I often find myself coming back for more. If you’re a casual or even moderate user of Twitter, or are one of those people that actually like using Twitter.com, then you will more than likely love what brizzly has to offer.

The downside is that I’m not sure brizzly has quite what it takes to satiate the hyperactive Twitter power users. As much as I love the interface and all of the cool features mentioned above, I find myself jonesing for columns. As far as I can tell brizzly doesn’t alert you when there are new posts in your lists and it’s definitely not possible to notified when someone else’s list that you’re following is updated.

I like to be absorbing a lot of information at once and that’s one thing brizzly doesn’t do well. Still, it’s the most original, well designed take I’ve seen from any Twitter web app.

Brizzly is still in private beta and you need to an invite to join for now. I have ten invites to give away, if you’re interested leave a comment and I’ll send you an invite.

10 thoughts on “Brizzly: What Twitter would be with a Facelift and on some Steroids

  1. Pingback: Twitted by Shelley_Rae

  2. I've currently got Power Twitter on and I can't figure out how to get rid of it. It has some of the above features… but I'd like some columns right about now…

    Reply
    • RE: Power Twitter – If you want it off for good you can go into your firefox menu > Tools > Add-ons > extensions and either disable it or delete it.If you're looking for a good web based experience with columns you should definitely check out Seesmic App. You can check out my review of that app here: http://jamespoling.com/seesmic-app.Let me know if you have any questions!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

