HP Starts Replacing Faulty GeForce 9500GS Graphics Cards


nvidia-geforce-9500-gt-gpuFor the past couple of weeks my desktop has been making a fairly loud and unsettling noise. At first it would come and go but with time became more persistent. This weekend I finally brushed off the dust and took off the cover to see which fan was making all the racket. It was my video card. I wasn’t looking forward to calling HP, waiting on hold and convincing them I was having issues so I pushed it aside.

This morning I opened my Gmail only to find an email with “Critical Update from HP” as the subject line and the very first sentence “Excessive Fan Noise from GeForce 9500GS Graphics Card”.

It’s weird because I’ve had the noise for a few weeks but kept putting it off until it became unbearable or I thought it would genuinely break. Then, the day after I check I get the email from HP, these graphics cards must all be crapping the bed all at once.

HP’s full email instructions on replacing your graphics card are after the jump.

******************************************************************

URGENT SUPPORT NOTIFICATION FROM HP
******************************************************************

Excessive Fan Noise from GeForce 9500GS Graphics Card

This document only pertains to HP and Compaq Desktop PCs with
GeForce 9500GS Graphics Cards.

Certain GeForce 9500GS graphics cards by MSI Logistic LLC produce
excessive, noticeable buzzing, rattling, or scratchy sounds
coming from the graphics card fan.  MSI Logistic LLC is providing
modified GeForce 9500GS graphics cards that help prevent excessive
fan noise.  Modified graphics cards contain a fan shroud that is
blue.  Previous GeForce 9500GS graphics cards have black fan
covers.

To find out if your computer is eligible for a replacement
graphics card, click one of the links below to continue to MSI
Logistic’s GeForce 9500GS Graphics Card Replacement Program
website for HP and Compaq Desktop PCs.  MSI Logistic LLC is
solely responsible for these websites.

MSI Logistic GeForce 9500GS Graphics Card Replacement Program

United States (English)
http://9500replacement.msicomputer.com/default.aspx

United States (Spanish)
http://9500replacement.msicomputer.com/?language=usaes

Canada (English)
http://9500replacement.msicomputer.com/?language=canadaen

Canada (French)
http://9500replacement.msicomputer.com/?language=canadafr

For all other Countries/Regions
http://welcome.hp.com/country/us/en/wwcontact_us.html

This GeForce 9500GS graphics card replacement program by MSI
Logistic LLC is available for the following time periods:
o  United States and Canada:
July 16th, 2009 through July 15th, 2010
o  All other Countries/Regions:
August 15th, 2009 through August 14th, 2010

35 thoughts on “HP Starts Replacing Faulty GeForce 9500GS Graphics Cards

  1. I have been trying to access the URL listed in the email (same as above), but I just get an error. Anyone else having this problem?

    Reply
  2. I have been trying to access the URL listed in the email (same as above), but I just get an error. Anyone else having this problem?

    Reply
  3. I have been trying to access the URL listed in the email (same as above), but I just get an error. Anyone else having this problem?

    Reply
  4. Are you clicking on the “English” link? I just clicked on it and it took me to the correct page no problem. It could be that the page was just overloaded when you were trying to access it.

    Reply
  5. Are you clicking on the “English” link? I just clicked on it and it took me to the correct page no problem. It could be that the page was just overloaded when you were trying to access it.

    Reply
  6. This was a known problem with the fan installed on these HP systems. HP tried denying the problem for almost a year before offering this 'solution'. Unfortunately HP is somewhat disingenuous. They require that you either 1. ship your computer back to HP and have them install a new video card (a process that they say will take up to three weeks and likely put you out the shipping costs at least one way for a short period of time). or 2. Trust them with your credit card number and they will ship you a new video card that you can install yourself. But you MUST replace your card and ship it back to them within a day or so in order for them to NOT charge your credit card. The long and the short of it is this. Your on your own. So go out and buy yourself a replacement now and never purchase HP again.

    Reply
    • This isn't quite true. At least it's not what I was told. It is true that if you want them to ship out the replacement video card right away you do need to give them your credit card info but this is quite common for replacements of any kind. They have to have some way to ensure you're actually going to return the defective part.You can also ship them your defective card first, wait for it to be processed and they'll ship out a replacement card. Nothing was ever mentioned about shipping my entire computer, that doesn't even make sense.I've never had a problem with HP and have used their products for many years. I'm glad they replaced the part as quickly as they did.

      Reply
      • Hey James I have tried to access the replacement card site site numerous times and it appears that the site is no longer up. I called HP an hour ago and they told me it would be 55$ to purchase tech support (because it's been over a year since I bought my hp pavilion elite m940f, therefore it is out of warranty) and then once i purchased tech support I could send them my graphics card and they would look at it (maybe replace it maybe not? I don't even know I'm just so angry I have to pay 55$ for them to look at my faulty graphics card that THEY sold me). can you give me any help with this? Since the site isn't working anymore does that mean I can't get a replacement for the faulty graphics card they sold me?

      • You can have them send you a box to send them the card and they'll send you a replacement or you can use a CC and they'll send you a card and you use the box to return your defective one. If you check the processing/handling delay dates, the fastest path is to have them ship you a box, oddly enough.Your link above still works and I just used it and thank you for putting up this detailed post. I've been putting up with the noise until my daughter finally complained about it and then investigated. I really wish I hadn't let the thing grind in my ear for months . . . Thanks!

  7. Thanks for the info. My computer was just out of warranty and I assumed that I was going to have to pony up for a new card.

    Reply
  8. I finally got sick of the noise and it progressed just as blog said. Matter of fact, it is making the noise as I type this >< gave them the required info and the new card is on the way.

    Reply
    • i have the same problem with my fan and it is driving me crazy cant event think straight im going to run to the bios ,it didnt work , its faulty just like the gas pedals

      Reply
  9. The problem is simpiest! I Solved it ater several attemts, but, by my recommends, it takes to you about 30-40 minutes, if you agree to repare this terrible structural mistake in new [1-1.5 years old] fan axle stop connection by plastic end nuts. Iif you have old small fan from old video card – carafully take of all nuts from back of it, and replace new broken by the old, use small amount of mashine oil. May be it will work for some time. Now you can buy new not expencive video card from another company. I did that next day after solving the problem. I not satisfied by quality of my new HP Computer. After 14 monthes HD was crached, two monthes ago- Video Fan, what will be next? At my opinion Hp shall repair all this fans on all 3 yats old computers for it own cost.

    Reply
  10. All my previous computers were working for several years, except my new HP 1.5 years old. HD was crushed, and fan on videokard now, 3 weeks later. If I bay HD from manufacturer, I have 3 yars varranty. From HP I have I year warranty for all parts. My old refurbished Sony Vaio computer works more than 5 Years without problem.Why quallity of HP computers is so low?

    Reply
  11. You can have them send you a box to send them the card and they'll send you a replacement or you can use a CC and they'll send you a card and you use the box to return your defective one. If you check the processing/handling delay dates, the fastest path is to have them ship you a box, oddly enough.Your link above still works and I just used it and thank you for putting up this detailed post. I've been putting up with the noise until my daughter finally complained about it and then investigated. I really wish I hadn't let the thing grind in my ear for months . . . Thanks!

    Reply
  12. After buying a new HP desktop, I had the fan problem within weeks.I gave HP my credit card and had to replace the graphcs card myself. Not something I feel I had to do after buying this piece of HP junk for $1200. Now, about a year later, the replacement fan is making the same noise and causing my computer to become non responsive. To remedy, I have to restart my computer everytime I downlaod any video (about twice a day). The lesson here is DON”T BUY HP-They are junk and the company doesn’t care about us, consumers. The laptop I bought at the same time as this computer, had it’s harddrive fail after 2 weeks…HP IS JUNK…Don’t buy it !!!

    Reply
  13. So my computer has been in a box for a year after I was restationed out of US. Just logged on, HP did its update and the critical update for the recall popped up. Same one posted above. The website is no longer functioning, so I contacted hp support chat. There they told me that the above recall was out of date. When I told them that can’t be it just came up as an update they then said that it was for new machines with i5 and i7 chipsets. I then posted the dates from the recall and told them there was no way it could be for new machines. So he hgave me a number to call. Ill call it in 1/3 hour and let you know how that turns out.

    Reply
  14. I’ve the same issue like this. I’ve contacted HP technical support and they told me I have to buy 1 year guarantee (100$) if I want them to answer my question. I’m so frustrated!

    Could you help me what should I do, and how I contact them to get the replacement since I link you posted doesn’t work anymore!

    Reply
    • Hi Heering, unfortunately I wrote this post over a year ago. If your computer is now out of warranty I’m not sure what your choices would be other than to buy the extended warranty.

      My only other advice would be to keep calling back and hopefully you’ll get to speak to someone that can somehow figure out a way to send you a new graphics card without having to purchase the warranty.

      Good luck.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

