South Park Mobile: Just when I thought I was out…they pull me back in


photoI’ve had my iPhone Jailbroken for quite a while.

One of the main reasons I’ve gone through the relative hassle of doing it each time Apple releases a firmware upgrade is that there are a few really cool, robust apps that for some reason Apple won’t allow into the app store. Namely Cycorder, Snapture, MCleaner, BossPrefs and Winterboard. Three of which I go into far more detail about here.

I was seriously considering the next time Apple upgraded its firmware to just let sleeping dogs lie and learn how to live without those apps. Now, however, two new turn of events have persuaded me to be vigilant in my Jailbreaking.

First, Apple’s ludicrous declaration that Jailbreaking your iPhone is illegal. That in itself is enough to make me want to keep my iPhone perpetually Jailbroken. How does Apple have the nerve to tell me that when I purchase hardware I cannot do with it what I wish. It would be akin to Honda suddenly issuing a statement that it’s illegal to have my car serviced at any place other than a certified Honda repair center.

I am not stealing anything, I’m not Jailbreaking my iPhone for any nefarious purpose. Who the hell is Apple to tell me what I can and can’t do with my phone. If Apple wasn’t so thuggish about what the let into their beloved App Store I wouldn’t have to Jailbreak in the first place! And, for the record, I have way more App Store apps on my phone that I paid for than I do Jailbroken apps.

The second reason to stay Jailbroken is far more entertaining and harkens back to Apple’s App Store thuggery. The South Park App! Basically you can stream every single episode of South Park ever right on your iPhone.

[nggallery id=2]

We first announced our iPhone App back in October, after we submitted the Application to Apple for approval. After a couple of attempts to get the application approved, we are sad to say that our app has been rejected. According to Apple, the content was “potentially offensive.” But Apple did admit that the standards would evolve, citing that when iTunes first launched it didn’t sell any music with explicit lyrics. At this point, we are sad to say, the app is dead in the water. Sorry, South Park fans.

Even Matt Stone and Trey Parker are down with it.

“We’re always in favor of people downloading. It’s how a lot of people see the show. And it’s never hurt us. We’ve done nothing but be successful with the show. How could you ever get mad about somebody who wants to see your stuff?”

And where the App Store fails you once again, Cydia picks up the slack. So if you have a Jailbroken iPhone, you may want to fire up Cydia and get in on some sweet, sweet South Park lovin’. And the best part? It’s free!

Don’t get me wrong, I’m a sucker for a good app. I will continue to buy apps from the App Store. But, on the other hand, I will also continue to make my iPhone as robust as possible by taking advantage of everything Cydia has to offer as well.

Leave a Reply

