Crackulous App Creator Sporting Ginormous Set of Balls


crackulousCrackulous is an app that is specifically created to use on jailbroken iPhones to specifically allow you to pirate actual App Store apps.  I am not down with that.

I’m the first to admit that I can get down with a jailbroken iPhone, but that’s only so that I can use legitimate apps that for some reason or another don’t live up to Apple’s jackbooted SDK limits.  I feel as though I should be allowed to use my phone the way I want.

A great deal of apps that are in the App Store are created by regular developers that have full-time jobs and families.  I’ve dealt with quite a few app developers and many of them are literally just one-man shows, which is why Crackulous, an app designed to basically steal App Store apps just isn’t cool.

Still, that’s not where the real irony of the story comes in.  Gizmodo did a write up on Crackulous and apparently linked to something other than the official “buy” link to Crackulous and the creator flips out.

Check out the surreal back and forth after the jump.

Subject: INACCURATE: Crackulous article

Crack Ulous Mon, Feb 2, 2009 at 4:14 PM
To: adam@gizmodo.com

Adam, you are linking to a pirated version of the app. Please link to REMOVED (the official Crackulous site) instead of supporting the pirates in the crackulous article. Thanks.

Adam Frucci Mon, Feb 2, 2009 at 4:16 PM
To: Crack Ulous

Are you serious? This isn’t a joke? You’re seriously trying to stop
an app designed to pirate apps from being pirated?

Crack Ulous Mon, Feb 2, 2009 at 4:21 PM
To: Adam Frucci

No but I need people to support my work… I deserve appreciation.

Adam Frucci Mon, Feb 2, 2009 at 4:23 PM
To: Crack Ulous

But the people who have legit apps that Craculous will help pirate
don’t? You honestly don’t see the irony here?

Crack Ulous Mon, Feb 2, 2009 at 4:24 PM
To: Adam Frucci

Yes.. but Adam, all I ask is that you link to REMOVED in your article because some people still buy and support. Some people in the scene appreciate my work. Is it too much to ask? :)

Adam Frucci Mon, Feb 2, 2009 at 4:34 PM
To: Crack Ulous

No.

Crack Ulous Mon, Feb 2, 2009 at 4:35 PM
To: Adam Frucci

Ok if you could please do that I would be very appreciative. Thanks.

Via Giz.

3 thoughts on “Crackulous App Creator Sporting Ginormous Set of Balls

  1. fwiw, I’ve heard that this isn’t actually the developer, it’s just someone playing a joke. If that’s the case, then the email exchange is hilarious.

    Reply
  2. Hey James, I made Crackulous.net and you can go to Haklab.com to see why. :) I made no money out of this but I’m glad people got laughs out of it and our e-mail convo made peoples’ day. :D

    Reply
  3. Hey Haklab, sorry, I thought I had actually responded to this a while ago. That email conversation was cracking me up.

    Now that I know the story behind the site, and the conversation it’s even better. Well played sir!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

