I refuse to believe President-elect Obama uses a Zune


Even though Obama specifically says in his June 25, 2008 interview in Rolling Stone that he owns an iPod, some Philadelphia blogger with a plunger on his face claims to have seen Obama working out with a Zune.  Yes, I know this is the dumbest fucking story of the century and I apologize in advance, but I’d just like to point out that Neal Santos may secretly own stock in Microsoft’s Zune project and may be trying to give it a bump.

Rolling Stone:

Obama waxed rhapsodic about his favorite artists, many of whom — Bruce Springsteen, Bob Dylan, Jay-Z — have shown him love with endorsements.

“If I had one musical hero, it would have to be Stevie Wonder,” says Obama, who grew up on Seventies R&B and rock staples including Earth, Wind and Fire, Elton John and the Rolling Stones. “When I was at that point where you start getting involved in music, Stevie had that run with Music of My Mind, Talking Book, Fulfillingness’ First Finale and Innervisions, and then Songs in the Key of Life. Those are as brilliant a set of five albums as we’ve ever seen.”

Wonder shares room on Obama’s iPod with “everything from Howlin’ Wolf to Yo-Yo Ma to Sheryl Crow,” he says. “And I have probably 30 Dylan songs on my iPod.” Though he’s partial to 1975’s Blood on the Tracks, “Maggie’s Farm” is “one of my favorites during the political season,” says Obama. “It speaks to me as I listen to some of the political rhetoric.”

This may actually be up there with the “boxers or briefs” question Clinton was asked on MTV during his campaign. 

But seriously though, you can’t run an election claiming you own an iPod and garnering people’s votes then after you win suddenly start toting around a Zune.  That’s just not cool. It’s likely to give the impression that politicians aren’t trustworthy or something.

12 thoughts on “I refuse to believe President-elect Obama uses a Zune

  1. Pingback: Business Technology : Obama ZuneGate, Day Two

  2. Pingback: The Wall Street Journal made me seem like an Apple fanboy — james poling

  3. You’re the idiot. Did he say he doesnt own a zune. Seriously man… you put your vote to someone based on the product you use. I can see now why ur country so going down. Moron.

    Reply
  4. You know…really. Even though I can detect and appreciate sarcasm, as posters shunshui and Andre apparently cannot, I have to comment on this.

    This isn’t news. This isn’t even TRIVIA. Media players are media players, and I don’t give a flying fuck whether Obama has an iPod, a Zune, or exercises by pedaling a belt attached to a fucking phonograph. It just. Isn’t. Newsworthy.

    And James, please don’t take the comment personally – you said in your opening paragraph “I apologize in advance”. I’m just pissed that this is even getting talked about.

    Reply
  5. I have to agree with you james, this is a really dumb topic. I read a post on The Wall Street Journal site that lead me here. They have you quoted very poorly as they drop the part of your quote that shows you are obviously being sarcastic resulting in a quote that makes you sound like some type of Apple zealot.

    And yellow journalism scores another point against an educated humanity. At least it pointed me to a cool new blog.

    Reply
  6. What I want to know is who the hell CARES?

    At all? Anyone? This is stupid and pointless even for the internet. Some guy posts on his blog “Woo I worked out next to the president elect!!” and what happenes? Everyone goes on about how he uses one particular MP3 player over another.

    I owned an iPod once. Then I got a better MP3 player. Maybe soon I will buy another iPod because the new models are better then the one I have.

    What’s that? I buy different brands? I’m not a fanboy who insists that my choice is 100% the best no matter what the competition brings out? What’s happening to the world?!?

    Brand loyalty is overrated anyway. Make them work for it.. they bring out crap, switch.

    Yes I’m ranting. Ranting at all the IDIOTS.

    Gr.

    Reply
  7. I see what you’re aiming for, and that’s great, but I know too many idiots who actually vote based SOLELY on aesthetics and products politicians use. I fail to see the humor in that. Everyone has a right to vote, but the people who vote someone in based on what TV they use, or how they eat an Oreo cookie should be sterilized.

    Granted, this election was different from others, with respect to the overall atmosphere; I just see stuff like this as catering to the bandwagon, “OMG Hope is Sooooo TRENDY LOL” crowd that didn’t know about half the issues. I actually overheard a girl on a cell phone talking to (presumably) one of her parents, saying “I think I want a hybrid…. No… No…. Well… Barack Obama has one! I know!” Maybe this post just reminded me of my disdain for sheeple.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

