Gmail Struggles to Remain Relevent in Mobile World (EOM) Style


It’s really no secret to anyone that knows me that I’m pretty much a gmail fanatic.  If I am looking to hire someone I am far more likely to pay attention to someone with a gmail.com address over someone trying to pawn off a yahoo.com or *gasp* hotmail.com email address.  Maybe it makes no sense, but it’s the way I work.  I know what I need done and if you’re still using hotmail, I don’t think you’re the person to do it.

Anyhow, I digress.  In our ever changing, constantly connected world even I find myself struggling to use email.  Between text messages, Twitter, Facebook and instant messages, email has almost become as archaic as letter writing and snail mail to me.  Sure it helps that gmail has the built in chat interface, but since my workplace pretty much soley uses AIM, I’m stuck on Trillian all day.

Often times when I actually do get to use my email I want to get straight to the point.  Often times the point I need to get across is easily conveyed in the subject line.  Now gmail has added functionality that allows you to include “EOM” at the end of a subject line that is in fact the entire content of your email.  Adding “EOM” will help you avoid that annoying pop up reminding you that the body of your email is empty.

For example, say you send out four or five emails a day with only a subject line like “Meet for Lunch?” or “Where the hell are my socks?” or “Go Yanks”.  Normally, when you go to send that message you would get this popup reminding you that the body of your email is empty.

After a while that could get pretty annoying.  Now by adding “EOM” or “(EOM)” at the end of your subject line gmail recognizes that the subject is in fact the End Of your Message.  It’s also good practice to use EOM since it alerts whoever you’re sending a subject only email to that they need not waste time opening your bodiless email.

Leave a Reply

