Is God on America's Side or are You a Godless Terrorist Lover


First of all, nice way to sneak in the last Democratic debate before Super Tuesday on Sunday morning when all of the “real” democrats are still passed out from the night before. I’m onto you CBS.

So I’ll review for all of the Dem’s that were still recovering from getting crunked on Saturday night and who missed the debate. Believe it or not, “Do you believe that God is on America’s side,” was one of the questions that Elisabeth Bumiller of the new york times asked the Democratic candidates during the debate this morning. Aside from the fact that it never should have been fucking asked, (I guess seperation of Church and State only counts in non-election years), I think the answers are very interesting.

I’ll put down the answers here and you can decide who you felt gave the best answer. I’ve added some commentary to go along with it to help you out.

Question: Really fast, on a Sunday morning, President Bush has said that freedom and fear have always been at war, and God is not neutral between them. He’s made quite clear in his speeches that he feels God is on America’s side.

Really quick, is God on America’s side?

Candidate #1: Well, God will — look, I think — I believe in God, but I don’t believe, the way President Bush does, in invoking it all the time in that way. I think it is — we pray that God is on our side, and we pray hard. And God has been on our side through most of our existence.

T-t-t-today stupid, spit it out. This is pretty much how this Candidate is running his entire Campaign, like he’s Bush Lite© or something. “I believe in what Bush believes in but different, vote for me”. Blah.

Candidate #2: Well, there’s a wonderful story about Abraham Lincoln during the middle of the Civil War bringing in a group of leaders, and at the end of the meeting one of the leaders said, “Mr. President, can we pray, can we please join in prayer that God is on our side?” And Abraham Lincoln’s response was, “I won’t join you in that prayer, but I’ll join you in a prayer that we’re on God’s side.”

Thanks for the history lesson Dr. Feelgood, now we all know how Abraham Lincoln felt about it, how about you clue us in on how you feel about it now genius.

Candidate #3: I think it’s important we’re on God’s side, as I said earlier, that we must (UNINTELLIGIBLE).

But I also think we’ve got to heal this president from feeling like he and America is the same thing. God is on America’s side. That does not mean He supports what George Bush…

Bush doesn’t need to be healed, he needs to be defeated…again.

Candidate #4: We need to break the spell of fear which is over this country. Remember where we come from as a country. When Francis Scott Key wrote that “Star-Spangled Banner,” he made the connection when he said, “Does that star-spangled banner yet wave over the land of the free and the home of the brave?” The connection between democracy and courage.

I would call out the courage of the American people, and defend our rights, cancel the Patriot Act, reestablish the fullness of our democracy.

Finally, thank you.

#1 is John Kerry

#2 is John Edwards

#3 is Al Sharpton

#4 is Dennis Kucinich

I’ve said it before, I’m willing to do whatever it takes to get Bush out of office, but I live in New York, and I’m definitely not in a swing state. Whether it’s spreading the word or even getting behind Kerry as an opponent of Bush, I can do that, I just don’t know if I can actually force myself to vote for the guy.

I feel like Kucinich gave the only honest answer out of the entire group. Maybe I’ll vote for him come election day.

Let me just say this too, that it’s obvious to see why it’s looking like the DNC is getting behind John Kerry, and it’s because politically, he has no fucking balls. Watching him try to backpedal away from being “the most liberal Senator in Washington”, was damn near painful.

Almost as painful as Edwards trying to laugh off his $34 Million net worth and his $5 Million dollar house plus his two $1 Million dollar houses, by pointing at Kerry and laughing saying, “he’s worth more.”

I don’t care if your daddy was a miner or your mama was a fucking waitress or your baby sister turned tricks for cheesburgers. Kerry and Edwards are so out of touch with the everyday working people of this country it’s hard to hide it.

You know the one candidate on that stage that can and has done more than blow smoke about “being in touch” with the “common man” is Dennis Kucinich. You can read about it, in a book he wrote the introduction for and which he is partly responsible for the creation of called Shafted: Free Trade & America’s Working Poor. It’s a great read, and something the rest of the candidates are afraid to talk about.

So that’s pretty much where I’m at right now. The Dean for America/Change for America camps are fighting and backstabbing and everyone is sucking Kerry off and nobody wants real change, just recognition. So I’m gonna criticize, educate, scream, yell, persuade, volunteer and vote to get Bush out of office, after that, you can have your politics back.

Leave a Reply

